On Saturday, April 9, 2011, from 10:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m., attendees can prepare for a stroll back in time through the “Town That Was Started Right!”
The development entity known as The Syndicate began the process in 1910, but William Paul Whitsett saw it through to the end. Originally a barley field, Van Nuys became a prosperous center of City Government, agriculture and industry. Come explore what remains to be appreciated: original 1911 buildings hidden beneath modern facades, first churches, a civic center with many special revelations, one of the main hubs of social and official activity, the Women’s Club building, Los Angeles Historic Cultural Monuments #201, #202, and #911, and National Register of Historic Places Monument #2509.
Learn about the origin of the Daily News and the company which was a nationwide maker of silent movie theatre organs. Who were Hobart Johnstone Whitley, Wayne E. Bechtelheimer and Whitley Van Nuys Huffaker? Relive “Wednesday Nights on Van Nuys Boulevard.” We will have historic photographs and stories to share as we wander this surprisingly historic San Fernando Valley treasure. Tour highlights include:
- Van Nuys Bungalow
- Women’s Club
- Old Van Nuys Library (1927)
- United Methodist Church
- Municipal Building Façade
- Van Nuys Post Office
- Abeles Map
- Fernando Statue, Crystal Plunge
- Bob’s Big Boy, Busch Gardens
- Lankershim, Van Nuys, Whitsett, Whitley
To RSVP, please call 1-818-347-9665, email at events@theMuseumSFV.org.
Cost: $10 per person suggested donation
Attendees can pay in advance on the Museum’s website at www.theMuseumSFV.org; go to Events, then Tours; Scroll down to Donate button and order tickets.
Okay to pay at the beginning of the tour.
Parking: Street and metered parking in area
Thank you for Sponsor Universal City/North Hollywood Chamber of Commerce